Latest Posts

American Pianists Awards Announces Five Finalists – Lyric Say

The pianists will compete for the Christel DeHaan Classical Fellowship, given each 4 years to an American classical pianist on the conclusion of the group’s 13-month competitors


Open to Americans ages 18-30, the American Pianists Affiliation and its American Piano Awards intention to search out one of the best younger, upcoming pianist each 4 years.

5 finalists had been chosen in a blind audition course of from nominations by over 1,200 piano educators, artists, and trade professionals.

The finalists of the 2025 American Pianists Awards are Michael Davidman, Avery Gagliano, Sasha Kasman Laude, Elliot Wuu, and Angie Zhang.

They are going to compete for the distinguished Christel DeHaan Classical Fellowship, given each 4 years to an American classical pianist on the finish of the 13-month competitors.

Every of the 5 finalists has already received a money prize of $25,000 and can obtain profession help valued at greater than $200,000 — together with two years of profession administration and public relations help, a media tour, an artist residency on the College of Indianapolis, a recording contract with Steinway & Sons document label, efficiency engagements each nationally and overseas, and extra.

The 2025 Awards winner will moreover embark on a brand new recital tour throughout the 2026-27 season, in addition to performing with the American Pianists Affiliation’s accomplice orchestras: the Phoenix Symphony, the Santa Fe Symphony Orchestra, the Tucson Symphony Orchestra, the Buffalo Philharmonic Orchestra, the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra and extra.

Moreover, it has been introduced that Michelle Cann will function the group’s inaugural Christel DeHaan Inventive Accomplice, a place made attainable by a Legacy Grant from the Christel DeHaan Household Basis. Cann will oversee all inventive features of the competitors together with managing the nomination course of, jury choice, and live performance programming.


The competitors will see every finalist play within the first live-juried performances of the Awards from October 2024 by February 2025. These live shows will encompass solo repertoire and a concerto efficiency with the Indianapolis Chamber Orchestra on the Indiana Historical past Middle.

All 5 finalists will return to Indianapolis for Discovery Week, held March 31 – April 5, 2025. All through the week, every pianist will carry out a chamber music recital with the Dover Quartet at Christ Church Cathedral and a solo recital at The Jazz Kitchen.

The ultimate juried performances of the 2025 Awards are the Gala Finals with the Indianapolis Symphony Orchestra, performed by JoAnn Falletta, held April 4 – 5, 2025 at Hilbert Circle Theatre.

The 2025 jury will embrace Stephen Beus, Michelle Cann, Jane Coop, Carol Leone, Marina Lomazov, Tito Muñoz, Awadagin Pratt, Roberta Rust, Pierre Van Der Westhuizen, and Jack Winerock.

The 2025 Awards are a singular celebration of our 5 proficient finalists,” APA President and CEO Chris Williams mentioned. “It is incredibly rewarding to collaborate with these young pianists in the early stages of their careers and provide opportunities for them to grow as artists. I look forward to supporting our finalists throughout the Awards and beyond, as we launch the next generation of great American classical pianists.”

Earlier winners embrace Kenny Broberg, Drew Petersen, Sean Chen, Grace Fong, Spencer Myer, Frederic Chiu, and Sara Davis Buechner.

Latest Posts

Don't Miss